Sabriel, Gino The Ghost, Leah Clark and more –


This week, Global Artists Spotlight features musicians (left to right) Sabriel, Gino The Ghost, Leah Clark and more. Photos: courtesy of the artists

NO1KNOWS & KVNE – “Hour of the Dead”

As part of their recent collaboration, Australian / British producer NO1KNOWS and Canadian singer KVNE are releasing a thrilling new track titled “Time Of Death”. The pumping dance number is backed up by layers of dreamy guitar as well as pop and R&B elements and even a catchy vocal section.

Blood wine or honey – “Testing Time” feat. Zoë Brewster

Hong Kong-based electro-jazz duo Blood Wine or Honey present debut single from upcoming album DTx2 in the form of the hypnotic “Testing Time” with voices by Zoë Brewster. The track features saxophone parts, densely layered cello sections as well as silky electronic production. There are tasty synths as well as menacing bass parts as the vocal melody dips in and out of the instrumentation.

Leah Clark – “Not Like Them”

American alt-pop artist Leah Clark showcases her vulnerable side with her haunting new single “Not Like Them”. Clark juxtaposes atmospheric electronics, deep sub-bass and piano parts while adding melancholy instrumentation that elegantly flows under his delicate voice that creates a crisp dream-pop soundscape. Of the song, Clark says, “I wrote ‘Not Like Them’ at a point in my life when I was struggling mentally. I felt like everything was out of my control. I felt helpless and fearful of the world, but even more so of the people who were there. My emotions are raw in this song, “Not Like Them” is my piece of reflection. “

Popstar Number One – “Forever 21”

American singer / filmmaker Kate Hollowell’s latest single, aka Number One Popstar, is the young and edgy “Forever 21.” Accompanied by a self-directed music video, the upbeat song is injected with drums and key pieces from the 80s that make it very dancey. “I started writing ‘Forever 21’ when I found myself looking back on my 20s, wanting to recapture the hopeful and stupid feelings of my youth. But the more time I spent on the song, the more it became a reflection of the loss I suffered when my parents passed away in my early 20s, ”Hollowell says.

Waiting for Smith – “The Despair of Love”

British singer-songwriter Harry Lloyd aka Waiting For Smith, the acoustic song “Hopelessness Of Love”, was inspired by a tough love episode. The musician wrote the song with the need to express that there will always be difficulties in relationships. “It’s about the inevitable collision that occurs in any relationship, there are ups and downs – it’s just life,” the artist says.

Frankie Zulferino X Melii – “Hit That”

New York singer and dancer Frankie Zulferino has teamed up with musician Melii for a bouncy new number titled “HIT THAT”. Inspired by the pop sounds of the past decades, including the early 2000s, Zulferino and Melii together created a banger with funk and R&B elements.

Gino The Ghost – “Cough”

The latest offering from Los Angeles-born, Detroit-born songwriter / producer Gino The Ghost is the new single “Cough Drop.” The artist drops melodious verses as an excitable rhythm runs through the track. Gino The Ghost also released an enigmatic video to accompany the song.

Sabriel – “Fox in the henhouse”

The neo-soul-infused sounds of Las Vegas-based singer-songwriter and producer Sabriel light up beautifully on his new song, the textured “Fox in the Henhouse.” While the lyrics recount the feeling of betrayal, the sonic nature of the song is filled with throbbing synths, a slow, soothing beat as well as Sabriel’s sparkling voice.

Savannah Conley – Surprise Surprise

Nashville-born singer-songwriter Savannah Conley releases brand new six-track EP Surprise Surprise. Interspersed with his rock and country influences, the record is a total earshot. The EP opens with the fluid “Being Around You” before hearing the effervescence of “Dream Boy” and the melancholy of “Not Where I’m Going”. The record picks up with the rocky “Never Want To Be In Love” before ending with the brooding title track.

Kyd the Band – “Glory”

Filipino-Spanish alt-pop artist Kyd The Band reflects on his early years and inspires others with his uplifting new song “Glory,” accompanied by a music video that highlights the stories of one artist, one ballerina and a fighter.

Tetrarch – “Negative noise”

Atlanta-bred, Los Angeles-based metallers Tetrarch have emerged as an intriguing testament to the indomitable sustenance of nu-metal sound. Reminiscent of elements from Linkin Park, KoRn, Slipknot and more, there is still a freshness (or rather, they at least avoid appearing outdated and imitating) that draws on the nostalgic value of the Early Years era. 2000, an anguished and relentless energy. Their 2017 album Monster Has seen them touring alongside Avenged Sevenfold, DevilDriver, and their own heroes KoRn, but they’re clearly looking to level up with their second album. Unstable, released April 30 via Napalm Records. It’s edgy, there are no wedges barred to the fury of any modern metal fan.

Boss Keloid – “Gentle Clovis”

British prog metal / rock band Boss Keloid have spent over a decade establishing themselves with evenly chunky, steely riffs and ornate riffs. Their upcoming fifth album La Grive family smiling (released June 4 via Ripple Music) clearly stacked on the riffs (courtesy of Paul Swarbrick) and Alex Hurst’s canyon dominant vocals, as heard on the first single “Gentle Clovis”. Reminiscent of Mastodon as much as King Crimson, there is a heaviness that Boss Keloid brings together that hits like a slab of bricks.

TWINKIDS – Nobody loves Me

Drawing on experiences of deep-rooted defeat and insecurity, queer pop duo TWINKIDS (Tokyo-born singer-songwriter Jin Fukui and Florida-born pianist-producer Matthew Young) is their vulnerable and unfiltered being with their first album. Nobody loves Me. Whether it’s dreamy daydreams (“I Know”, “Nobody Likes Me”, “I’m Not Confused”), indie pop fueled by nostalgia (“Feeling Small”) or melodies more focused on the dancefloor (“911 I’m Sad” “) And a Japanese track (” Shetland Ni Hoho Wo Uzumete “), TWINKIDS is at its heartwarming best.

Millennium Parade – “Trepanation”

Tokyo-based Millennium Parade collective – founded by producer Daiki Tsuneta in 2019 – pushes the boundaries of eclectic music for the digital age even further with their latest single “Trepanation”. The boisterous electronic pop song, which features vocals from Friday Night Plans aka Masumi, is also the theme song for the Netflix horror / manga film adaptation. Homunculus. And while it’s a live-action movie, the music video for “Trepanation” is a trippy animated offering that clearly has a life of its own.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.